When I started blogging about beer so very long ago (three weeks?) I had an idea in mind. I wanted to present a blog that wasn’t just beer reviews and my thoughts on beers, but something that could reflect what I have learned or was learning about with beer and beer culture. Reviews are subjective, and while I may love a brew, unless you have the same taste buds as me, you may not feel the same. For example, I love sour beers. I love their complexity and their flavor profiles… while others think they taste like licking a horse or like drinking straight cough syrup. You’ll see me review a lot of sours on here because they are a style I have recently come to love.

I want to be more inclusive than this. I want to teach, share, promote. Because of this realization, I wanted to provide you (the reader… at least, I hope there are readers…) with a glimpse of that may be in store over the path of this blog.

First and foremost, there will be reviews. I would love it if you would comment on my reviews with your own thoughts. Did you try this beer? Do you disagree with what I think? Would you like to try it? I’d love to hear feedback, because I always find it interesting what others think about the same topic.

Next, I want to do a sort of ABCs of beer. I’d like to do the ABCs of tasting terms. The ABCs of styles of beer. The ABCs of hops and what they bring to a beer. Things along this line. Sort of the newbies guide to beer and beer terms. I’d love to do a weekly round-up of things I’ve seen and heard going on in the beer world that I think may interest you.

Last, I want to bring my experiences at taprooms and beer tasting events to this blog. I want to share what went on, what were the highlights, what were the not-so-highlights. The craft beer community has so much to offer, and I want to share some of those in person experiences as I have them. Heck, someday it would even be fun to interview people on their experiences or interview brewers… but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

I know I said last, but truly last, I want to blog about what you want to read. Is there a topic you want me to write about? Do you have a question you would love to see answered? I’d be thrilled if you emailed me at [email protected] and shared what you want to read.

I want this to be an entertaining experience for you and me both, and I’m excited for the next few weeks where I really start to explore this path I’ve laid out. Until then, while I work on the content, enjoy my reviews as I post them up!

Paul
10/30/2013 01:36:39 pm

Enjoying all of your reviews so far. Keep them coming (in moderation of course)! I for one am a sponge for any and all knowledge. Don't be afraid to include your adventures in brewing besides just your tastings.

Reply



Leave a Reply.